What’s unexpected about the iPad

by wschnell

I am filing this into the “documents” category because the iPad is not only a media consumption device, it is also a documents production and consumption device.

For me, what comes unexpected is always the most interesting aspects of things, because the New can be found close to the unexpected. So I watched myself closely when I brought the iPad into my life.

I heard it many times, but never believed it til it happened: instant-on is something you get used to in an instant. The barrier to making a single entry into a mindmap becomes nil, the barrier to write a blog entry as well (you just open the cover) so you can grow things with their natural speed, and not much falls through the cracks when you go in single-step, idea-by-idea mode.

I always wanted to read in bed (well, surfing is another matter …) and bought a light laptop for that 2 years ago, but it felt like a battery rundown test each time I would start it; now only the iPad keeps cool in bed.

I usually run for 3 days on one charge, so for me, the battery life could even be shorter, but then, it is nice to go on a weekend trip without a charger.

Accessories? A spoiler for the iPad or what? – It is interesting what you don’t need. Apple has a reduce-to-the-max philosophy and that’s a good thing, uhm, well, most of the time. When you want something extra, there is a clear path: you won’t get it. Wouldn’t it be great to run your remote support software with a mouse? Wouldn’t it be great to have a spam filter in your email client? et cetera. As a Windows user who started with version 1.0 (of Windows, right!) I always thought Apple was a great software manufacturer, but now that I put my hands on an Apple product for the first time, it feels rather like Apple is a great hardware manufacturer who built a market for SW developers. And did a perfect job at that.

Now find me someone who complains about the iPad! – Improbable, because what the laptop promised, the iPad follows through. Enjoy!