Acrobat – my scanning software

by wschnell

One of the most under-documented parts of Acrobat is the scan part that is built in. Now I own a copy of Acrobat Pro because part of my profession is electronic forms, and Adobe is very good at that. So here is my Acrobat that can connect to TWAIN and WIA scanners. It does
– double-sided scanning with scanners that scan only on one side
– OCR automatically
– despeckle and do other image “optimizations”
– create PDFs
It does not
– recognize patch codes or barcodes
And it is not particularly good when there is a feeding error; it gives you one more chance to correct, then jumps out of any batch scanning; so I do batches of 50 pages and I restart the batch when anything goes wrong.

Simply said, after I got Acrobat, I stopped searching for another scan software.