Eliminating paper at home

by wschnell

What is done at the workplace can be very reasonable at home as well: get rid of the paper in your life.

When I got my education, books were a sign of being a thinker, the more you own, the more you have digested. The way to show your style was to have a big collection of books at home. And boy, I do own some! As a consequence, your apartment better grows by the years or ….

or you destroy your collection the way I do:
I use two machines that many already own and use, a multifunction device (a printer and a scanner in a combined housing, which works as a copier or fax machine as well) and a tablet computer. Add a plate shear and you are ready to go.

I scan the front page of the book in color, 600 dpi. Then I rip off the front page and cut the book into pages. These pages can go into the feeder of my MUF device, black-and-white landscape, which goes in faster, at 600 dpi. This may sound unconventional, but it it produces just twice the data of 300 dpi, and people with retina displays will kiss my feet in the not-so-distant future for that.

On my iPad, I can read my old books very nicely. About 10 seconds after the scanning is done.

It is like helping the souls of my old books get out of their rotting bodies and be preserved, whereas the paper will go into recycling.